MacMusic  |  PcMusic  |  440 Software  |  440 Forums  |  440TV  |  Zicos

The Music Producers Guild Announces its 2019 Awards Winners

Sunday March 3, 2019. 08:55 PM , from Digital Pro Sound
host of music industry VIPs and celebrities filled London’s Grosvenor House last
night for the 2019 Music Producers
Guild Awards – an annual event that recognises the creativity, skill and
talents of music recording professionals.

The top accolade of Producer Of The Year was won by
James Ford for his work on the Arctic Monkey’s sixth studio album Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino,
Everything Everything’s fourth studio album A
Fever Dream and Gorillaz’s sixth studio album The Now Now. Ford is also a founder member of Simian and Simian
Mobile Disco.

the second year running female recording professionals made their presence felt
at the MPG Awards by carrying off a quarter of the accolades, including
Breakthrough Engineer of the Year – a category that was totally dominated by
women and was ultimately won by Dani Bennett Spragg.

notable award winners were Skepta, who was given the MPG Inspiration Award; Hugh Padgham, who received
the PPL Present The MPG Award For Outstanding
Contribution To UK Music, and Rockfield Studios founder Kingsley Ward and his
family who received a Special Recognition Award. Their contribution was marked
by a unique live performance featuring a number of artists who have recorded
seminal projects at Rockfield over the years, including James Dean Bradfield
from the Manic Street Preachers.

The 11th MPG Awards featured
a total of 16 award categories, each designed to recognise and celebrate
the best and brightest talent in music production, along with the industry’s rising stars. The event
was hosted by broadcaster Shaun Keaveny and was attended by over 350

For a full list of
2019 MPG Award winners and sponsors, please see the list below:

UK Producer Of The Year, sponsored
by Flare Audio

James Ford

Recording Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by AMS Neve

Matt Wiggins

Mix Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Miloco Studios

David Wrench

Re-mixer Of The Year, sponsored
by Synchro Arts

Breakthrough Producer Of the Year, sponsored by Focusrite

Dilip Harris

Self-Producing Artist Of The Year, sponsored by Spitfire Audio

Jon Hopkins

Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Genelec

Dani Bennett Spragg

Producer Of The Year, sponsored by RME

Greg Kurstin

Mastering Engineer Of The Year, sponsored
by Kii Audio

Mandy Parnell

UK Album Of The Year, sponsored
by Universal Audio

Everything Everything: A Fever

Single Song Release Of The Year, sponsored by Shure

Anna Calvi: Don’t Beat The Girl
Out Of My Boy

A&R Award, sponsored by DAFT Studios

Gilles Peterson

Of The Year, sponsored by Soundgas


The MPG 2019 Awards categories in the gift of the
MPG are:

Inspiration Award, sponsored by
Audio Note, which was awarded to Skepta

PPL Present
The MPG Award For Outstanding Contribution To UK Music, sponsored by PPL and awarded to Hugh Padgham

The Special
Recognition Award, sponsored by
Steinberg, wasgiven to the Ward
Family and Rockfield Studios.–

About Music Producers

The Music Producers Guild is an independent and
democratic organisation that encourages the highest standards of music
production, and actively engages with other music industry organisations to
campaign and lobby on matters of important mutual interest. 

The MPG represents and promotes the interests of all
those involved in the production of recorded music, including producers,
engineers, mixers, re-mixers, programmers and mastering engineers.
News copyright owned by their original publishers | Copyright © 2004 - 2019 Zicos / 440Network
115 sources
Current Date
Sep, Sun 15 - 20:51 CEST