MacMusic  |  PcMusic  |  440 Software  |  440 Forums  |  440TV  |  Zicos
apple
Search

How to watch Apple’s WWDC 2024 keynote live

Friday June 7, 2024. 02:37 PM , from Mac Central
Macworld

Apple’s yearly Worldwide Developer Conference (WWDC) is a hugely important event, second in significance only to the company’s iPhone launch each fall. WWDC is important because, at the opening keynote presentation, we get to hear what Apple has in store for its various operating systems, and therefore for the devices that run them. If you own an iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch, or Apple TV, WWDC will be relevant to you, and we strongly recommend that you watch the keynote.

Fortunately, you don’t need an invite. The keynote will be streamed online for everyone to watch live. We have embedded the live stream below, so you can watch it here once the event starts. There are other options too, and we outline these below.

If you’re interested in watching the keynote, here’s everything you need to know. You can read more about WWDC 2024, including the products we expect to launch, in a separate article.

When is the WWDC 2024 keynote?

The keynote kicks off WWDC at 10 a.m. PDT on June 10, 2024. The event will probably last about one to two hours. Here’s what that translates to around the world:

U.S.: 10 a.m. (PDT); 11 a.m. (MDT), noon (CDT), 1 p.m. (EDT)

Canada: 10 a.m. (PDT); 11 a.m. (MDT), noon (CDT), 1 p.m. EDT, 2 p.m. (ADT)

U.K.: 6 p.m. (BST)

Europe: 7 p.m. (CEST)

India: 10.30 p.m. (IST)

Singapore and China: June 11 at 1 a.m. (CST)

Japan: June 11 at 2 a.m. (JST)

Australia: June 11 at 1 a.m. (AWST); 2.30 a.m. (ACST); 3 a.m. (AEST)

New Zealand: June 11 at 5 a.m. (NZST)

How to watch the WWDC 2024 keynote

Other than YouTube, there are several ways to watch the WWDC keynote depending on your device:

Watch on Apple’s own website.

Watch via the TV app on an Apple TV, iPhone, iPad, or Mac.

In the past, Apple has also streamed the event live on Twitter. It doesn’t seem to be repeating this experiment, instead directing followers to apple.com, but there may well be promoted tweets posted during the event.

When we get closer to the date of WWDC 2024 Apple’s special events page will have all the info you need, including the option to add it to your calendar.

How to watch the WWDC 2024 keynote on a Mac

On Apple’s website, either on the Apple Events page or on apple.com.

On Apple’s YouTube channel.

In the TV app.

After the keynote’s initial airing, it will be available in Apple’s TV and Podcasts apps.

How to watch the WWDC 2024 keynote on iPhone or iPad

On the Apple website, either on the Apple Events page or on apple.com

On Apple’s YouTube channel, either through Safari or via the YouTube app.

In the TV app.

How to watch the WWDC 2024 keynote on Apple TV

You can watch the keynote via the TV app, which means you’ll need an Apple TV that supports the App Store and has the TV app.

Previously Apple hosted the WWDC keynote inside a dedicated Events app on the Apple TV but that app has since been made redundant. Instead, the keynote will appear as an option within the TV app.

How to watch the WWDC 2024 keynote on a PC

PC owners will need Microsoft Edge on Windows 10 to watch on Apple’s site. Or they can watch using YouTube as above.

How to watch the WWDC keynote on anything else…

Apple says other platforms may be able to access the stream using recent versions of Chrome or Firefox (MSE, H.264, and AAC required). To watch, visit the Apple Events page.

Can I join the WWDC 2024 sessions?

WWDC isn’t just the keynote. There are also in-depth sessions where developers can learn more about the various platforms and network with Apple staff and other members of the community. In the past, these sessions would have taken place in person; in the more recent past, Apple has allowed registered developers to access the WWDC sessions online. Keep an eye on Apple’s WWDC developer page for the latest details of the sessions running and how to access them. Developers are also encouraged to download the Apple Developer app for more information.

This year, as in 2023, there will be an in-person component to the event, and select invitees will be at Apple Park to watch the keynote ‘live’ (although the presentation will probably be a pre-recorded video). This means the lucky attendees will also get to attend the sessions in the flesh. Tickets to this event were made available via a lottery, and this closed some time ago. If you haven’t heard by now, you’re not invited.

How to register as a developer

To register as a developer and gain access to the online components of WWDC (and qualify for the ticket lottery next year), head over to the Apple Developer Program registration page and click Start Your Enrollment at the bottom of the page. We run through the process here: How to join Apple’s beta program.

Registering as an Apple developer is free but if you want full access to support materials and publish apps, you’ll need to pay $99 a year. However, if you only want to test the latest betas, it’s free. You can sign in with your own Apple ID or create a dedicated Apple ID just for the developer account.

Apple Inc, iPad, iPhone, Mac
https://www.macworld.com/article/673537/how-to-watch-apple-wwdc-keynote.html

Related News

News copyright owned by their original publishers | Copyright © 2004 - 2024 Zicos / 440Network
Current Date
Jul, Sun 21 - 13:11 CEST