MacMusic  |  PcMusic  |  440 Software  |  440 Forums  |  440TV  |  Zicos
apple
Search

Apple Spring event: Date, time, new product rumors for Let Loose event

Wednesday January 31, 2024. 02:51 PM , from MacOsxHints
Macworld

We’d given up hope for a spring event this year, but Apple surprised us by issuing invites to an event on May 7, 2024. So it turns out that big things are brewing at Apple Park after all, and we are about to find out what they are.

In this article, we explain what you need to know about Apple’s May 7th event, how to watch it live, and what products you can expect to be unveiled.

Apple’s spring event is one of the three or four big events in Apple’s yearly cycle of announcements. We get the big software announcements at WWDC in the summer, the iPhone launch in September, sometimes we see Apple make Mac and iPad announcements in October or November, and (most years) we get some hardware reveals at a spring event in March or April. At these events Apple executives hit the stage–whether real or virtual–and boast about some recent successes, before revealing what new products are about to launch. For more detail on Apple’s calendar of events, read When is the next Apple event?

When the event starts you will be able to watch it right here:

When is the Spring Apple event 2024?

Apple has confirmed that it will hold an event on Tuesday May 7, starting at 7am PT.

While the date is a lot later than previous ‘spring’ events, it’s quite typical for Apple to hold events (other than WWDC) on a Tuesday or sometimes a Wednesday.

What time will Apple’s May 7 event start?

Apple’s events generally start at 10 a.m. in local (California) time, but this time the event starts at 7am PT.

Here’s what that time is in various locations around the world:

U.K.: 3 pm (BST)

Central Europe: 4 pm (CEST)

U.S.: 7 am (PT), 8 am (MT), 9 am (CT), 10 am (ET)

Canada: 7 am (PT), 8 am (MT), 9 am (CT), 10 am (ET)

India: 7.30 pm (IST)

Singapore and China: 11 pm

Japan: next day at 2 am (JST)

Australia: 11 pm (AWST), 11.30 pm (ACST), midnight (AEST)

New Zealand: next day at 2 am (NZST)

Apple events generally last between one and two hours.

What is the spring event tagline and what does it mean?

The tagline is Let Loose, a phrase that suggests freedom, perhaps the idea that creativity will be let loose.

The image accompanying the invite is of an Apple Pencil drawing, so a new range of iPads and a new Apple Pencil are expected. Read more about the new products expected at the event below.

The date (7 May) and time (7 am) may also be relevant. If Apple updates the iPad Pro 12.9in and iPad mini they will both be 7th generation models.

What will Apple announce at the spring event?

We’ve seen Apple announce the M3 MacBook Air via a press release. So what could be next?

The iPads are overdue an update. They were the one product category that didn’t get a look in at all in 2023. Not a single Apple tablet was updated. So a new batch of iPads is expected including a new iPad mini and iPad Air (the latter of which could have a larger screen option). An 11th gen iPad and an update to the iPad Pro, also with a screen size adjustment, could also happen in the spring, although we may be waiting a little longer for them. There is also an expectation that a new Apple Pencil could soon launch.

Now the MacBook Pro, iMac and MacBook Air offer the M3 (and M3 Pro and M3 Max in the case of the MacBook Pro), but what of the Mac mini? That Mac will surely be updated soon.

We could also see some updates to the Home products. There have been rumors of a faster version of the Apple TV, a HomePod with screen, or a product that combines the two products. Speaking of music, we could also see new AirPods – including a cheaper model. Read the AirPods rumors.

We could also get a date for the availability of the Vision Pro outside the U.S. According to analyst Ming-Chi Kuo the Vision Pro is likely to launch outside the U.S. before WWDC 2024, which likely takes place in June. Speaking of which, we’ll probably be waiting until WWDC in June for the Mac Pro and Mac Studio update.

How to watch Apple’s spring event live

The best way to watch would be to get an invite to attend in person, but most of us won’t be so lucky. Fortunately, Apple will also live stream the presentation so everyone can watch along.

The first place to try is right at the top of this article where we have embedded Apple’s YouTube stream. You can also watch on Apple’s events page, which will have the live stream on the night. Indeed, the main Apple.com home page should have plenty of coverage while the presentation is happening.

If you’ve got an iPhone, an iPad, an Apple TV, or a Mac–assuming the device has sufficiently up-to-date software–you can watch the stream on the TV app. PC owners can also watch but will need to visit Apple’s site as mentioned above.

After the event is finished, it will also be available to rewatch in the Podcasts and TV apps, and on Apple’s website.

The company has occasionally experimented with streaming announcements on its Twitter page, although we don’t expect it to repeat the strategy this time.

Finally, Apple has for certain events in the past held broadcast events in Apple Stores, so it may be worth contacting your nearest outlet to see if they have anything planned.

More information about watching the event here: How to watch Apple’s ‘Let Loose’ iPad event on May 7








Apple

Apple


Apple

What has Apple launched in past spring events?

Studying past behavior can help us predict what Apple will do in the future. Here’s what Apple has announced at previous spring events.

2023: no event

2022, Tuesday March 8: (“Peek Performance,” virtual): New iPhone SE, new iPad Air, Mac Studio and Studio Display, and new iPhone color options

2021, Tuesday April 20: (“Spring Loaded,” virtual): New iPad Pro and iMac, Apple TV 4K, AirTags, new iPhone color options and iOS 14.7

2020: no event

2019, Monday March 25: (“It’s show time”): Apple Card, and the News+, TV+, and Arcade subscription services

2018, Tuesday March 27: (“Let’s take a field trip”): New iPad and education announcements

2017: no event

2016, Monday March 21: (“Let us loop you in”): iPad Pro, iPhone SE, and software updates

2015, Monday March 9: (“Spring Forward”): Apple Watch, a new MacBook, and iOS 8.2

2014: no event

2013: no event

2012, Wednesday March 7: (“We have something you really have to see. And touch”): 3rd-gen Apple TV and 3rd-gen iPad

What happens at an Apple event?

Like most tech-company launch events, it will feature both fluff and substance. Expect some tedious bragging at the beginning; this may cover such topics as operating system adoption rates, hardware customer reviews, and eco-friendly manufacturing policies. But Apple wouldn’t hold an event if there wasn’t something worth hearing, and we should get into proper announcements within 10 minutes or so.

Generally, you can expect multiple separate announcements at an Apple event.

Apple Inc, iPad, Mac
https://www.macworld.com/article/1484151/apple-spring-event-date-time-how-to-watch-rumors.html

Related News

News copyright owned by their original publishers | Copyright © 2004 - 2024 Zicos / 440Network
Current Date
Jun, Fri 14 - 18:55 CEST